Nov 162013

More than 60 students at Groton-Dunstable Regional High School and more than 40 from Nashoba Valley Technical High School, three of them from Groton and Dunstable, earned John and Abigail Adams Scholarships based on the results of the latest Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) tests.

The state scholarship provides a tuition waiver for eight semesters of undergraduate study at a Massachusetts state college or university. The requirements are stiff. To qualify, students need to:

  • Score in the Advanced and Proficient levels on grade 10 MCAS tests in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics (at least one score must be Advanced)


  • Have combined scores on MCAS ELA and Mathematics tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district

Tenth graders, members of the class of 2016, must:

  • Score at the Advanced performance level on one of the three high school state assessment tests in ELA, Mathematics, or STE (Biology, Chemistry, Introductory Physics, or Technology/Engineering)


  • Score at the Proficient level or higher on the remaining two high school state assessment tests


  • have combined scores from the three tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district


Russell Byron-Kelly and Stetson Lacombe of Groton, and John Hunt, of Dunstable are among 41 students, 25 percent of the seniors at Nashoba Valley Technical High School, who qualified to receive the Adams Scholarship.

Students from Groton-Dunstable Regional High School who qualified are:

Adams, Matthew Charles
Antonellis, Celina Carmel
Arrighi, Gabrielle Brooke
Barranco, Adriana Josefin
Beebe, Heather Grace
Blair, Stefanie Elisabeth
Bonnett, Renee Bryne
Bugbee, Madeleine Grace
Burnett, Nicholas Scott
Cho, Ariana Eunbi
Chu, Jessica Lijie
Comeau, Samantha Marie
Connerty, Kale Beaton
Contonio, Kimberly Ann
Derouin, Julianne Elise
Digrazia, Karlii Marie
Donovan, Laura Elizabeth
Doody, Ryan Patrick
Fisher, Kyle Lee
Fleischer, Ryan
Fordham, Nicholas Paul
Frisard, Meghan Jeanne
Fulreader, Rachael Emma
Furbeck, Kristina Taylor
Gagne, Samantha Marie
Gaines, Emily Gillian
Gingras, Michael Christia
Grimard, Grace Catherine
Harte, Katherine Elizabet
Huber, Benjamin Matthew
Huber, Christopher Michae
Johnson, Noelle Melissa
Kennedy, Amanda Jackqueli
Kessler, Daniel Richard
King, Jesse Maximilian
Kong, Kevin Andrew
Li, Jennifer
Liljegren, Annika Grace
Liu, Sisi
Lutkevich, Benjamin Josep
Mahan, Gregory Paul
Mahmoud, Sara
Malsick, Lauren Emily
Marsh, Christopher Ryan
Mcevoy, Haley Jeanne
Mcgillivray, Ciara Julia
Mcguinness, Daniel Charle
Mclaughlin, Bryce Hunter
Murray, Siobhan Kathryn
Olson, Rachel Ashley
Pang, Justin Seohyun
Pei, Steven Yifan
Porter, Samantha Marie
Prescott, Victoria Lynn
Preston, Gregory Steven
Robes, Jason Andrew
Roufos, Anthony Alexander
Rubeski, Olivia Louise
Sheffield, Alec Graham
Subacius, Kestas
Waters, Rebecca Mary