Nov 062012

Preliminary Groton election returns seem to reflect the larger Massachusetts returns in the 2012 presidential and state races, with a slightly more conservative twist. Eighty one percent of Groton’s eligible voters, 6325 people, voted in the town’s three precincts, and favored incumbents President Barrack Obama and Senator Scott Brown over their challengers.

At 10:34 p.m., when Town Clerk Michael Bouchard released the town’s preliminary results, was reporting President Barrack Obama leading statewide with 60% of the vote over former Governor Mitt Romney’s 39%. Groton was less enthusiastic than the rest of the state, giving the President 51% and 3201 votes and the former Governor 44% and 2806 votes.

Elizabeth Warren was leading Senator Scott Brown 52% to 48% with 35% of precincts reporting statewide at 10:45 p.m., when Brown conceded. At 9:09 p.m., Warren posted a big “Thank You” banner on her Facebook page; she becomes the first Massachusetts woman to be elected to a Senate seat. In Groton, though, Brown came in ahead with 3356 votes and 53% to Warren’s 2714 votes and 43%.

Third District Representative Nicki Tsongas lead with 3571 votes and 56% to Jon Golnik’s 2352 votes and 43% in Groton, with district wide results still coming in. She released a victory press release at 9:52 p.m. See district-wide results.

First Middlesex State Representative Shelia Harrington, running unopposed for re-election, polled 4705 votes.

First Middlesex Senator Eileen Donoghue defeated GOP challenger Jim Buba 3390 to 2114 (54% to 33%).

In the three ballot questions, Groton voted 4762 (75%) to 637 (10%) to approve the Right To Repair initiative, Question 1; early (10:45 p.m.) and partial state results were 85% to 15%.
Question 2, Allow Terminally Ill Euthanasia, passed in Groton 3404 (53%) to 2538 (40)%; early (10:45 p.m.) and partial state results were 51% to 49%.
Question 3, to allow legal medical marijuana, passed in Groton 4037 (64%) to 1951 (31%); early (10:45 p.m.) and partial state results were 63% to 37%.

Download Groton’s unofficial results, courtesy of Town Clerk Michael Bouchard.